Hola y adiós Madrid!

After 6 days of indulging into Madrid I have returned home. I love the fact that you can go in shorts and t-shirt 24 seven in Madrid. That´s my kind of weather. Everybody thought I was spanish which was cool I reckon and that means I merged with the city and the people. I did try to get into the language just a little bit and not just use english which was good as well. I visited some touristy things and some not so touristy things. That´s ok when you are in a new city the first time. I don´t even want to think about how many kilometres I did walk in Madrid, but that´s how I like to experience a city. By foot. I managed to squeeze in both the Museo Thyssen-Bornemisza and Museo Nacional del Prado the same day which was slightly overbearing of impressions, but engaging nevertheless. But I missed out on seeing Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía as it was closed on a bloody tuesday.. I loved El Rastro, the open air flea market that didn´t seem to end no matter what direction you took. Gotta love spanish women. I visited Estadio Santiago Bernabéu, home of Real Madrid CF and I can only confess to having become a full blown fan after the visit, despite the fact that I still don´t like some players in the team (sell Ronaldo, Pepe and Ramos…). What a stadium that is and what a team it is and has been throughout the years. I loved the dynamics and pace of the city which belongs to a real big city. I wished I had been able to go at it with tapas and pinxhos, but being glutenintolerant it´s not that easy. I did however try some traditional food I could eat and that was solid. Minus was the slightly polluted air and a lot of people were smoking. Minus was that I have never studied spanish, that would´ve enriched the trip for sure and it would´ve made shopping for books and films a bit easier. Minus was as well that my pal Henrik couldn´t tag along and show me his Madrid or that my friend Sarah wasn´t in the city when I was there. Next time I go there I expect to see you both in Madrid! And I must mention Círculo de Bellas Artes de Madrid and the outstanding roof terrace. I didn´t want to leave! What a view and vibe! Don´t miss out when in Madrid. Madrid delivered for being there the first time, but there´s so much more to see so I say Hasta luego Madrid! ‪#‎Madrid2015‬

11951586_10155982674335344_365973804237627607_o