Drive’s Nicolas Winding Refn has suggested he turned down the opportunity to direct recent Bond film Spectre because he didn’t want to compromise artistically.

The Danish director is now working on a spy film called The Avenging Silence with longtime Bond screenwriters Neal Purvis and Robert Wade. When asked by The Telegraph if this is essentially his version of a 007 movie, Refn replied: “Yeah. Yeah. Well, I don’t know yet.”

Though he did not reveal specific details of his meetings with the Bond camp about Spectre, which was eventually directed by Sam Mendes, Refn added: “I just know this way I can do whatever I want, and that outweighs any money anyone can give me.”

Meanwhile, the director has also revealed he is planning to work with Drive and Only God Forgives star Ryan Gosling again. However, when pressed by Metro for further details, he replied: “I can’t tell you that.”

Refn’s latest film The Neon Demon, which stars Elle Fanning, Christina Hendricks and Keanu Reeves, opens in UK cinemas this Friday (July 8). (via NME)

tumblr_luicz7sMgr1qixaono1_500